Define parameter with less indices than reference object Topic is solved

Problems with syntax of GAMS
Anka
User
User

Define parameter with less indices than reference object

Post by Anka »

Hello community,

I'm a beginner in the usage of GAMS and I fail to define a parameter based on the solution of my model, because I struggle with the indices. I have an assignment problem, where my decision variables x(t,w) assign to every task t exactly one worker w. Thus, my x variables are SOS1-variables. Now I like to define a parameter worker(t) that gives me to every task the assigned worker. Sadly, I have no idea how to retrieve this parameter with only one index from the variables with two indices. More mathematically spoken, I need: worker(t) = w : x.l(t,w) == 1.

Relevant declaration:
Set t 'tasks';
Set w 'workers';
Variable x(t,w) 'Task t is a assigned to worker w';
SOS1 variable x(t,w);

After the solve statement, I tried something like:

worker(t) $ x.l(t,w) = w,

or

loop(w,
loop(t,
if (x.l(t,w) = 1,
worker(t) = w)
));

but both result in errors. Can you help me?
abhosekar

Re: Define parameter with less indices than reference object

Post by abhosekar »

Hi, workers is a set which could be something like /w1,w2,...wN/;
Parameter values have to be numbers which is why worker(t) =w is an incorrect way to think about the problem.
How about you define a parameter worker(t, w) which is 1 if task t is assigned to worker w?
You can certainly do that by
worker(t,w)$(x.l(t,w)) = 1;

As a sidenote, you can have variable x(t,w) to be a 'binary variable' instead of a variable. This way you won't need any other parameter such as worker(t,w). You can simply read x to get this information.
Hope this helps.

- Atharv
Anka
User
User

Post by Anka »

Hi Atharv,