Importing multiple parameters from an excel table

Problems with syntax of GAMS
pitters
User
User

Importing multiple parameters from an excel table

Post by pitters »

Hello,

Im fairly new at GAMS, and im having trouble trying to import multiple parameters from an excel table.

The table im trying to import looks like "ATTACHMENT 1" , asumme the table starts at a1, and the sheet is called "sheet1"

My easy fix is dividing the table as "ATTACHMENT 2" and using the following code, but it would be desirable to keep all the data in one table

$CALL GDXXRW.EXE i=test.xlsx o=rep\test par=param1 rng=sheet1!a1 Rdim=2 DSET=set1 rng=sheet1!a2 Rdim=1 DSET=set2 rng=test!b2 Rdim=1
$CALL GDXXRW.EXE i=test.xlsx o=rep\test par=param2 rng=sheet1!a1 Rdim=2 DSET=set1 rng=sheet1!a2 Rdim=1 DSET=set2 rng=test!b2 Rdim=1

Attachments
imagen.png
imagen.png (4.26 KiB) Viewed 3198 times
imagen.png
imagen.png (2.73 KiB) Viewed 3198 times
abhosekar

Re: Importing multiple parameters from an excel table

Post by abhosekar »

Few points:
1. default is Sheet!a1 so no need to specify.
2 .The option you are missing here is ignoreRows and ignoreColumns to tell gdxxrw that the columns should be ignored. Check here: https://www.gams.com/latest/docs/T_GDXX ... ND_COLUMNS
3. You have to use these options because a natural way to provide 2D parameters is to have it as a matrix where rows represent one dimension and the columns represents the other.
4. It would have been better if you had uploaded the spreadsheet.

I don't think you should read parameters in the same line as you are doing with multiple rdim and cdim. A better way is to use options file as shown here https://www.gams.com/latest/docs/T_GDXX ... DSHEET_PAR

I created a table as you show in the second pictuer (where both param1 and param2 are present as two columns)

To read param1
$call GDXXRW.EXE i=test.xlsx o=rep\test par=param1 rdim=2 ignoreRows=1 ignoreColumns =4

Similarly, for param2