Call error

Problems with syntax of GAMS
Sudharshan
User
User

Call error

Post by Sudharshan »

Hello all,

I am new to GAMS CGE modelling and am trying to run a model by first transferring the SAM Matrix into GAMS as follows:

Parameter SAM ;
$CALL GDXXRW MLI_SAM2018.xlsx Par=SAM rng=D4:DD108
$GDXIN MLI_SAM2018.gdx
$LOAD SAM

But whenever I try to run it, I get the following error: GDXIN failed C:\Users\Sudharshan\Desktop\GCA\GAMS\pep-1-1\pep-1-1\Mali\MLI_SAM2018.gdx
*** Msg: No such file or directory

This is strange because I ran the same script last week and it worked perfectly fine. Any insight is greatly aprreciated!
bussieck

Re: Call error

Post by bussieck »

Most likely something with you statement "$CALL GDXXRW MLI_SAM2018.xlsx Par=SAM rng=D4:DD108" went wrong. Check the log for errors. You can also check the return code of gdxxrw for success by actually running "$CALL.checkErrorLevell GDXXRW ...". Perhaps, gdxxrw did not find the Excel file. Hard to say with out more information.

-Michael
Sudharshan
User
User

Post by Sudharshan »

bussieck wrote: 10 months ago Most likely something with you statement "$CALL GDXXRW MLI_SAM2018.xlsx Par=SAM rng=D4:DD108" went wrong. Check the log for errors. You can also check the return code of gdxxrw for success by actually running "$CALL.checkErrorLevell GDXXRW ...". Perhaps, gdxxrw did not find the Excel file. Hard to say with out more information.

-Michael
Hello Michael,

Thank you for your response! I checked the log, but it simply says that I do not have the file or directory, even though I have the required excel file in the same directory. I am not able to run any excel file into GAMS even though I have the file and the name of the file is the same as the on ein the script. Any insight into this is greatly appreciated!

Thanks,
Sud
AndrewC
User
User

Post by AndrewC »

Could you try the following:

$CALL GDXXRW MLI_SAM2018.xlsx Par=SAM rng=D4:DD108 log=gdxxrw_input_data.log trace=3