Low CPU utilization

Problems with modeling
mielke
User
User

Low CPU utilization

Post by mielke »

Dear all

I'm currently solving a, relatively simple, linear model with the cplex solver, but for a huge amount of data. This makes for a very slow and time-consuming solving of the model. Now, when I enter the task manager (multiple times during the process, so it's not a one time problem), I observe that the CPU utilization of the 2 Intel Xeon processors E5-2630 v3 (8 C, 2,4 GHz, 20 M, 85 W) (so 16 cores), never exceeds 10%, and often remains at 3 to 4%. Therefore, there's plenty of processing capacity, but I just can't access it some way or another...

I should say, I'm a university student and I'm using a university server, that I share with others. Their activity (see image attached) fluctuates (0%, 40% and sometimes 97% (when mine takes up the remaining 3%)), but no matter how much they use, the CPU utilization on my account never exceeds 10%.

I already tried to give GAMS high priority in the task manager, but no result. Furthermore, as I am using a university server, I do not have any administrator authorisation. If the problem can be fixed as an administrator, however, I can ask my supervisor to take those steps, but for now she seems to have no idea either.

Maybe it's not a GAMS related problem, maybe it is, but I thought I'd just pitch it here anyway!

Thanks a lot for any help you could provide!
Michiel
Attachments
CPU utilization.png
mielke
User
User

Re: Low CPU utilization

Post by mielke »

Maybe some additional info: he's generating the MIP model right now (see image attached). Does it make sense that this takes up so much time?
Attachments
GAMS.png
Fred

Post by Fred »

Hi,

You can check in the lst file which equation is defined in line 94 and takes 2200 seconds to generate.