how to read sets and tables dynamically in a "for" loop?

Problems with modeling
azam
User
User

how to read sets and tables dynamically in a "for" loop?

Post by azam »

Hi everyone,

I'm pretty new in GAMS.
I want to read a set k and table T(i,j,k) dynamically in each iteration of for loop from different excel/text file.
The table T(i,j,k) changes in its size in each iteration/each excel file, according to change of k in each iteration.
T(i,j,k) is a very big matrix that I could barely create and save it in a separate excel file for each iteration. (I created them in MATLAB)
I just need to read them in GAMS to run my model in each iteration and save my results.
As I searched it's impossible to declare set or table in a loop, so what should I do?
I'll appreciate if anyone can help me in that.

Thank you
Renger

Re: how to read sets and tables dynamically in a "for" loop?

Post by Renger »

Hi Azam

It depends a little bit on how many files you are talking about. If there are only a few of them, you can easily use some if-statements and choosing i,j, and k such that it contains all the set elements that are used in the different files.
Could you show some example code?
Cheers
Renger
User

Post by azam »

Renger wrote: 4 years ago Hi Azam

It depends a little bit on how many files you are talking about. If there are only a few of them, you can easily use some if-statements and choosing i,j, and k such that it contains all the set elements that are used in the different files.
Could you show some example code?
Cheers
Renger
Hi Renger

301 files, so if-statements may not be suitable for me. k changes in each iteration too. Each T(i,j,k) has around 74,000 rows and k columns.
I coded just one specific iteration (new10_R.gms) that works perfectly, and I'm trying to find a way to define k and T(i,j,k) in each iteration and code the big problem(new11.gms) which is not complete yet.
I'll appreciate if anyone can guide me on that.

Thank you
Azam
new10_R.gms